Gateway Program

If you live in any of these counties, you may participate in the Gateway Project. Library patrons who are Gateway cardholders have borrowing privileges at any of the participating libraries at no cost.

Library patrons who are Gateway cardholders have reciprocal borrowing privileges at any of the participating libraries. Cardholders have access to a 1.5 million-volume collection at no cost. Residents of Arkansas, Bradley, Chicot, Clark, Cleburne, Cleveland, Conway, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Faulkner, Garland, Grant, Hot Spring, Jackson, Jefferson, Lincoln, Lonoke, Montgomery, Nevada, Perry, Pike, Polk, Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, Saline, Van Buren, and White are eligible to participate in the program.

You must be at least 14 years of age to be eligible for a Gateway card, and you must begin the application process for the Gateway card at your home library before visiting the library for which you wish to obtain the card.


Gateway cardholders have free borrowing privileges at all of the participating libraries listed in this brochure. The Gateway card is free. It gives access to a 1.5 million volume collection at no cost. The program was initiated in 1995 as a successful Library Services & Construction Act Development grant for library patrons in 12 Arkansas counties. The program has expanded to include 27 counties.


Cardholders must have a current library card from their home library and be at least 14 years of age. Age
requirements may differ at the participating libraries. Library patrons will follow the rules and procedures
of the participating library systems.


A $3 per item fee will be charged to a cardholder returning an item to a library other than the library in
which the item was borrowed.

There will be a $10 charge for replacement of a Gateway card. The home library will issue replacements cards. Materials not returned on time will be assessed a fine, which may vary depending on the library. Fines or fees must be paid in order to continue borrowing privileges.