Gateway Program

Residents of the following counties in the state of Arkansas are eligible to participate in the Gateway Project:

  • Arkansas County
  • Bradley County
  • Chicot County
  • Clark County
  • Cleburne County
  • Cleveland County
  • Conway County
  • Dallas County
  • Desha County
  • Drew County
  • Faulkner County
  • Garland County
  • Grant County
  • Hot Spring County
  • Jackson County
  • Jefferson County
  • Lincoln County
  • Lonoke County
  • Montgomery County
  • Nevada County
  • Perry County
  • Pike County
  • Polk County
  • Pope County
  • Prairie County
  • Pulaski County
  • Saline County
  • Van Buren County
  • White County

If you live in any of these counties, then you may participate in the Gateway Project.

You must be at least 14 years of age to be eligible for a Gateway card, and you must begin the application process for the Gateway card at your home library before visiting the library for which you wish to obtain the card.

Library patrons who are Gateway cardholders have reciprocal borrowing privileges at any of the participating libraries. Cardholders have access to a 1.5 million-volume collection at no cost. 

ABOUT THE PROGRAM

Gateway cardholders have free borrowing privileges at all of the participating libraries listed above. The Gateway card is free. It gives access to a 1.5 million volume collection at no cost. The program was initiated in 1995 as a successful Library Services & Construction Act Development grant for library patrons in 12 Arkansas counties. The program has expanded to include 29 counties.

ELIGIBILITY

Cardholders must have a current library card from their home library and be at least 14 years of age. Age requirements may differ at the participating libraries. Library patrons will follow the rules and procedures of the participating library systems.

FINES AND FEES

A $3 per item fee will be charged to a cardholder returning an item to a library other than the library in which the item was borrowed.

There will be a $10 charge for the replacement of a Gateway card. The home library will issue replacement cards. Materials not returned on time will be assessed a fine, which may vary depending on the library. Fines or fees must be paid in order to continue borrowing privileges.

Scroll to Top